In Pursuit of the Sun

Sunrise524403_3714407267762_133138129_n

I’ve decided to add a new item to my bucket list.  Since I’m close to my late forties, now is the time.  I can think about retirement, I can dream.  And I’m certainly too young to think about being done with my bucket list!  Maybe this is an impossible dream, but I feel that is at the root of optimism, always dreaming one more dream.  There is always room for one more dream!  We are in an infinite universe; why not dream infinitely (by which, I mean, without bounds)?

A dream is one thing I can hold close to my heart.  But I am so excited, I want to share it!  I want to one day retire and be a sun chaser!  Evidently, since I did look up the term, sun chaser already signifies many things, such as a yacht, an awning, a movie about an escaped fugitive, etc.  So I seem to be giving new meaning to the word.  I literally want to CHASE the sun.  Yet, I’m not a runner.  Okay, CHASE may be an exaggeration.  And I’m honestly not running away from anything.  We also shouldn’t confuse this with being a sun worshiper.  I am not so much about the tan anymore; I love witnessing the sunrise and all that it represents.  It’s almost second nature to whisper a “Thank you,” when I do.

Let’s put this in more specific terms for my bucket list:  I want to witness the sun rise in at least fifty different cities.  I think it’s plausible!   I could even start on it now!

All of this came about because I am on Spring Break.  I’ve been dropping my sun off at work, and finding myself with time in which I could go home and sleep again, or do something different, like stop and witness the sun rise, walk the dog as the sun is rising, or simply gaze at the sky.  It is a beauty, and sometimes there is no time to realize it until you can get off the merry-go-round for a while.  I took a long walk with the dog the other day, documenting with my camera just which house the sun peeps up behind, and today, I stopped on the side of the road on the way back from dropping off my son at work.  The sky was full of jet contrails.  I documented with my camera just how different the sky looked.  I was not happy about it, but the sun rise was still beautiful.  Guess what?  I feel  like I did an important thing, just noticing how the sky looked.

This got me to thinking, on a positive note, how different the sun would look in different cities, and what  a pleasure it is to view it from different perspectives (i.e., different cities).  There are many other things on my bucket list, such as, going to Rome and seeing the Vatican along with much of the art of the Renaissance.  But this bucket list goal really has me inspired and motivated.  A miracle is happening every 24 hours and I want to see more of it!  My  goal will include getting to another city (how doesn’t matter; it could be an old camper for all I care), being awake to witness the sunrise from that viewpoint, maybe documenting by camera, resting, eating, living, traveling to the next city of choice and being ready for the next sun rise.  I could even just do this once a week for a year if I start now!  There are many possibilities for carrying this out!  How many people travel to a city and never see its sunrise?  I’ll tell you, sunrise in Las Vegas is quite a sight in that flashy city amidst the hills and desert.  Breath-taking.   What an honor it is to be awake at that hour with nothing better to do than to take in this beauty.  Lent is almost over.  Easter will soon be here.  What a perfect time of year to celebrate Jesus’ resurrection.  The sun rises again every morning.  And there is certainly at least one Bible verse that verbalizes the beauty of nature.  This one touched my heart:

Psalm 19:1

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.”

From  http://www.biblestudytools.com/topical-verses/bible-verses-about-nature/

Indeed, they do!

 

Author: PamelaS.Canepa, Writing and Living

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF Visit me at https://about.me/pamela.schloessercanepa

5 thoughts on “In Pursuit of the Sun”

Leave a Reply

