Indie Writers Rock! An Interview with Lisa Wood,Newly Published Author of the novelette, Burnt Offering

LisaW.Burnt Offering Cover xl

I am pleased to announce my first ever author blog interview!  What makes it even more exciting is the fact that this newly published author is also a friend of mine who was once a co-worker.  Lisa Wood just recently published her first sci-fi fantasy e-book, a novelette titled Burnt Offering, on Smashwords and on Amazon Kindle.  It seems she and I have a bit in common, even down to the fact that she loves the author, Christopher Moore!  Here’s the rest of the scoop on this new author:

 

Tell us about yourself and how many books you have written.

My name is Lisa Wood.  I am a theatre teacher.  I have been writing forever, but I recently decided to share some of my work with people who didn’t know me (that was terrifying).  So far, I have published a novelette (Burnt Offering) and a flash fiction (‘Til Death… Well Maybe) which has a longer sequel on the way (Death Won’t Wait Forever).

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?  

The most recent book that I have completed is called Burnt Offering.  It was inspired by my mother’s battle with cancer.  I was dealing with some intense emotions and I channeled them into a Cinderella themed story.

Do you have any unusual writing habits?  

   I see pictures in my head, and I just have to turn them into words.  I always carry a notebook around with me, because I can never tell when the next story will haunt me, and I can’t get them out of my head until I write them down.  It’s cathartic.

What authors or books have influenced you?  

   I love Neil Gaiman, Shakespeare, Mercedes Lackey, George R.R. Martin, Christopher Moore, Jane Austen just to name a few (really, I could go on and on forever about authors that I love).  I think my writing is influenced by everything around me all of the time, especially things that I didn’t particularly like.

What are you working on now?

Right now, I have a few stories on burners.  I am trying very hard to finish Death Won’t Wait Forever, the sequel to ‘Til Death… Well Maybe.  I also have a thread I’m following on the fairy tale remakes that involves the Wizard of Oz and a post-apocalyptic future that may or may not include my favorite kind of undead creatures.  And there is my big project which I have been working on forever, but recently I stalled on it.  I will come back and get the last fifth of it written when the pictures take over my head again.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

For me, writing is and always has been a therapeutic practice.  Even before I had a story to tell, writing in my journal was the easiest way to keep my sanity as a kid.

What are you reading now?

I’m listening to the Game of Thrones audiobooks, reading the HedgeKnight II graphic novel, as well as Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Play, and a great book for work that is so amazing I forgot the title of it 😮

What’s next for you as a writer?
I never really do know what is next for me.  Once an idea strikes me, I write it down and if I’m not already engrossed in something else, I make an outline and start writing.  I suppose the world will just have to be as surprised as I am what will come out of my head next.

If you were going to be stranded on a desert island and allowed to take 3 or 4 books with you, what books would you bring?
I would want to bring books that I had never read before.  I have a very good memory for books, and I’d love the chance to read some new things that I have never read before.  But I think at least one of those books would have to be a giant blank notebook 🙂 just in case…

Find Lisa here:

Lisa’s Author Website:  Lisa Wood

http://lisawoodbooks.wordpress.com/

Author’s social media links:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LisaWoodBooks/

http://www.instagram.com/lisakins05

Preview and buy her books here:

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisawoodbooks

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01KCR1U8G

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/til-death-well-maybe-lisa-wood/1124240140?ean=2940153150567

If you buy Lisa’s book, please kindly give her a review on the site where you purchased it . It helps the author, and it helps other readers.

Lisa, thank you for letting me interview you for my blog!  I wish you much success in your writing endeavor!

Author: PamelaS.Canepa, Writing and Living

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I published a full-length time travel novel as of 6/16/17 and its sequel in the summer of 2018. Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! Learn about my award-winning sci-fi novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF Visit me at https://about.me/pamela.schloessercanepa

One thought on “Indie Writers Rock! An Interview with Lisa Wood,Newly Published Author of the novelette, Burnt Offering”

Leave a comment