#weekendcoffeeshare Full Speed Ahead and Ready for a Breather!

coffeechristmas-1895053_1280 Photo courtesy of Pixabay.

Why do the holidays come and go so fast when we get older?  Seriously, they’re almost here, and I’m nowhere near ready!  Okay, we’ll make this a brief stop.  Welcome to the Weekend Coffee Share, hosted by parttimemonsterblog.com!  Do you need a huge Mad Hatter’s cup or a regular size?  (I could take either one).  If we were having coffee today, I’d tell you:

I’ve kept myself a little too busy lately.  Was I just putting things on hold in November?   I feel sometimes that I am not very sociable when I have a writing project, and since those are dying down, I’ve caught up with a few people this week.  One of them is my sweet little aunt who left me a message last week, and I feel bad that it took me so long to reply.  She didn’t guilt me, though!  I was still writing this week, though; I entered a flash fiction contest here on WordPress for the first time.  I’ve looked at them before, but this time, the image struck me and a thought grew into a brief 150-word story.  I’m the kind who “writes what I want to write,” but I love the idea of this community of bloggers and the fact that no two people think the exact same way.  The variety of responses is fun to see!  Check mine out here:   https://pamelascanepa.wordpress.com/2016/12/13/a-turning-point-flashfiction-amwriting-fffaw-challenge/  It seems a little dark, but it is called “A Turning Point.”  I also prepared a presentation for an assembly of high-schoolers that I will chat with about writing, my own books, and my journey during Literacy week in January.  Yikes!  Jitters.  I’m sort of excited, though, and I should focus on that.  I’ll get there!  This is all in addition to my usual work schedule.

Holidays are upon us!  Christmas is here in a week, and I’m nowhere near done with Christmas shopping.  Amazon will save the day, but I suppose one trip to the mall will also be necessary.  Working there for 15 years of my earlier life kind of killed the joy I used to feel as a mallrat.  I guess I save much more money now, right?  Somehow I have turned anti-mall.  To be honest, you won’t find the TRUE spirit of Christmas there anyway.  A church dinner Wednesday helped get me into the spirit, and a fellow member has been needing rides to church so it’s getting me out of my temporary anti-social bubble.  After church dinner, there was a children’s play that was cute, funny, and inspiring all at once!  Well, the lady that rode with me had her granddaughter with her too, and they told me about a home with a beautiful Christmas light display, so we stopped there on the way home.  It was a beautiful departure from my usual rush-to-get-somewhere and rush-to-get-home habit.  I think that may be what will help me get into the spirit of Christmas, more things like that.  I’m going to try it!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

In going through the holidays this year, I am realizing the many people who suffer through this season with addiction/alcoholism, loneliness,  depression, etc.  We experienced a dark cloud in my family last year, but this year is so much better.  I am thankful for that, and I plan to be grateful for the love that is shared this season, rather than looking back at the sadness of last year.  I encourage you to reach out to someone who may not have that light of Christmas in their eyes. You never know what kind of difference you might make.  On that note, why don’t you take some more coffee for the road?

How was your week?  What fuels you and warms your coffee mug?  I’d love to hear from you!  Please also visit the Weekend Coffee Share host at parttimemonsterblog.com to enjoy some of the other Weekend Coffee Shares by our fellow bloggers and add the link for your own coffee share!

 

Author: PamelaS.Canepa, Writing and Living

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF Visit me at https://about.me/pamela.schloessercanepa

16 thoughts on “#weekendcoffeeshare Full Speed Ahead and Ready for a Breather!”

  1. Not done with Christmas shopping here, too and we don’t even have Amazon in the country. It’s not really a tradition but we still give gifts even in January, no rush I guess. Tonight I am thankful for dinner with the whole family, not a rare occurrence but something I was just thankful for despite all the rush and the material things that keep us always occupied. Hope you have a great weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve grown to enjoy writing to a picture or a prompt. And it is fun to see how different people come up with completely different stories. I hope you’re ready to slow down and relax by next weekend! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t rely on Amazon. This year they are failing me. They took a week to ship my two day prime package then we hat snow so now they aren’t delivering it until the 23rd! And I will be out of town by then. So that means I have to get something else for my grandson. I thought ordering on December 9th would give me plenty of time. Wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazon did not deliver my order like they promised. Their delivery statements are not accurate. Snow was not a problem at time I would love to drive around and see the Christmas decorations. Thank you for taking the time with your rider to see them. Have a pleasant week.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks for the coffee. I am impressed with the literacy week project you are going to do. It will be a chance to inspire those kids and learn a lot yourself. It makes me want to take a crack a t flash fiction too. Amazon prime does my bidding, and I never liked malls. I have noticed, however, this season they are tardy with the delivery time. It has made no difference in our lives, but for a deadline situation I would not trust them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. its weird how the older we get the less fun Christmas becomes until its just a regular ol day hahahaha havent even gotten round to putting up decorations this year…
    ~B

    PS I love huge mad hatter cup size tea , that way I get to pour just the once instead of multiple trips to the kettle

    Like

  7. I’ve been lucky this year with Amazon, all of my deliveries have been on time. I enjoyed your flash fiction piece. I have always loved seeing how many varied responses different people can have to the same prompt. Merry Christmas and have a great week!

    Like

  8. Wow you sound busy busy busy! I think it’s really great that you’ve mentioned reaching out to those who have a bit of a hard time during the holidays! It seems I’m seeing quite a bit of this through blog posts and Facebook posts the past couple of days and it warms my heart that there’s so many people who keep others in mind! The church dinner and children’s play sounds like a really great way to get ready for Christmas too! Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

