#weekendcoffeeshare Schemes, Dreams, and Fears

wp-1485560541716.jpg

Bixby contemplates.

Good morning, and Happy Saturday!  Well, it’s sort of a gray one here.  Sorry, I can’t bring you the sunshine today.  If we were having coffee on this, the 4th day of February, I would tell you that….

There is violence and unrest all around me.  It’s rampant in my city (Jacksonville), and in the schools.  Students are much more riled up lately and more prone to arguments and fights.  A fellow teacher friend and I couldn’t put our finger on why.  I’m going to posit that the national climate is affecting everyone.  As I try to be non-partisan and not look at my fellow humans as Democrat or Republican, it’s hard to take the person who is always sharing something divisive or even outright supporting our president by deriding those who are standing up, speaking out, or peacefully protesting.

Sometimes I think I really need to think about where I stand.  I am a pacifist, but I feel like I am not standing for anything.  Is just loving my fellow man enough?  Perhaps.  We all have our place.  At any rate, it concerns me to see such things in our kids.  I was part of a wonderful event at the school called Challenge Day, where we listen to each other and focus on commonalities.  See challengeday.org for details.  The spirit of that day needs to follow us all year.  It takes work.

My spirit is at unrest, as I type while standing, due to an over-active sciatic nerve. (See, I never quit).  I have no time for friends right now, yet miss spending time with friends.  Work life and family life are taxing right now.  I escape it with my writing.  I’ve also started watching Black Mirror during downtime.  No one in the house likes it but me.  There is such terror, but sometimes it is so subtle, and I LOVE that!  There’s always a twist; yes, it is a modern day Twilight Zone.  I’ve been told some of my writing is very reminiscent of The Twilight Zone.  That makes me proud.  Yet, sometimes I’m realistic.  This week, I wrote a flash fiction called “Michael’s Fairies,” and despite the title, it is all too realistic.  Oh, just give it a read! https://pamelascanepa.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/flashfiction-fffaw-challenge-michaels-fairies/  Your comments are appreciated!

Somewhere between my hopes of exercising the demons and fantastic dreams in writing, and obtaining another source of income, I considered setting up a Patreon account.  Well, I started the process last night.  It could help to pay for future editing, book covers, and book promotion.  If any of you have done this, I would love to get your advice.  It seems to me I could appeal to my type of reader, rather than trying to get my friends and co-workers to read my writing, since I’m not sure how interested they might really be.  Well, I have one really enthusiastic friend, but she is a writer as well.  🙂  Now, if I set up and go live on Patreon, I’d like to do it right, so I may need to read up on it more.

Thank God for weekends.  I can plot my schemes, and I also get some downtime with my dog, my boyfriend,  my writing, and time with my church community.  Let’s not forget, Super Bowl Sunday!  While I am not concerned with who wins, I am glad to go and eat some really good chili at my boyfriend’s house, especially if it’s windy and cool like today. Since being online looking at WordPress this morning, an author friend already made me smile with a story of success.  Please do share.   I’ll do the same, one day.  To all of my friends, cohorts, or visitors, have a great week!

**The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Diana of  Part-Time Monster.

Join us and be part of this great online community of coffee lovers.  Tell us about your week!

 

Author: PamelaS.Canepa, Writing and Living

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF Visit me at https://about.me/pamela.schloessercanepa

10 thoughts on “#weekendcoffeeshare Schemes, Dreams, and Fears”

  1. I’m also one who doesn’t like to rock the boat and try to keep politics 100% out of my blog. Doesn’t being a good person and trying to spread a smile to everyone out there worth something? Unfortunately, I think there comes a time when we all have to take a stand. So far I’m not sure what my stand will look like 😉

    Good luck with your writing! I hope you enjoy the weekend and have a great week ahead!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your journey and walk of faith. My favorite coffee is instant Cafe Pilon with a healthy dose of half n half! We do live in very uncertain times. All I can do is pray and try to develop new friendships and connections, which in the past, I really haven’t done. Not familiar with the other website you mentioned. I am enjoying your writing journey and will pray for your healing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, I feel the national climatre has everyone uneasy. I even so happy most of the posts keep it out. It is so easy to be talking about something else and end up angry over politics. Think Positive!

    Like

  4. Writing and reading are such a wonderful way to escape for a while. Good luck with your “Patreon account”. I share that same challenge of not wanting friends and co-workers but have that one writer friend who is helpful. However, I feel like I shouldn’t bother her all the time. Anyway, great post, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi
    Its so hard to find a place to stand in worldly affairs some people boldly assert their places but if standing up for yourself means trampling all over some one else, can’t we all get along?
    I am in a country where it seems almost dangerous to have an opinion let alone share it publicly….

    Anyhoo thanks for the chat have a great week.
    ~B

    Like

Leave a Reply

