#weekendcoffeeshare Ushering in Lent

 

wp-1485560541716.jpg

Welcome to the #weekendcoffeeshare, created by parttimemonsterblog.com.  If we were having coffee this morning of February 25, I’d tell you:

It’s past noon and I’m still in my pajamas (t-shirt and sweatpant shorts).  If you do come over for coffee, don’t worry, I’ll quickly put on a robe before answering the door.   I’ve lately been obsessing over my writing in a new blogging community and sharing my posts everywhere!  Maybe, instead, I should have been obsessing over the state test and my teacher observation occurring in this next week.  Nah. I surpassed the 500 view mark on Niume today! Yay!    Since I am learning how to promote, promote, promote, I may as well do something with it that can help others.  In a conversation on a friend’s Facebook wall, I volunteered to set up a GoFundMe account for a friend, and it is a worthy cause.

You see, my high school friend, Wendy, has Lupus, Rheumatoid arthritis, MS, Osteoporosis.  She also has a 1-year-old grandbaby whom she loves spending time with, but she is frequently in pain and undergoing a lot of treatments. There is more detail in this link, and you may feel moved to donate or share it on your social media.  https://www.gofundme.com/sxfp7s-wendys-medical-fund   She skipped a needed treatment last month because of the cost.  😦

Yes, it was someone else who suggested I do this, as I was encouraging her to do so, but inside me, I do feel that I should use my talents not only to please myself or earn some money but to help others.  Wendy just had treatments a day ago and has been quite out of it, so I, in my good health, am able to do this for her.  Why wouldn’t I then?  What will I give up for Lent?  Lent officially starts March 1st.  It is such an important time of year.  I hate dietary restrictions, as I go without beef or sweets many times just to aid my digestion.  Now is a good time to choose a selfless act, and this one just appeared before me.  I hope it isn’t uncool to post about it here.  I have spent much of my morning wording the campaign description and getting details from Wendy about her illnesses.

As far as my writing, I am all over the place.  The Niume blog is my latest writing obsession and I suppose it is getting my name out there even more.  Feel free to visit any of my posts at https://niume.com/profile/111217#!/posts and read my WordPress post about it at https://pamelascanepa.wordpress.com/2017/02/10/use-niume-to-promote-your-writing/ (if you’re interested).  It includes a referral link if you want to sign up and start your own.  I also have a novel being edited by someone.  I am not writing with true regularity, just in spurts of creativity.  That’s okay, at least it is happening.  This is what I needed to write about today.

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .   The coffee share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain).  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

 

 

Author: pamelascanepa

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF

2 thoughts on “#weekendcoffeeshare Ushering in Lent”

Leave a Reply

