My House of Cards, #poetry

playing-card-842037_1920

My House of Cards  (c) 2017, Pamela Schloesser Canepa

The House of Cards had thrived on hope

And goodness, love, and light

The hope was that it was enough

to keep us safe and sound.

The House of Cards became cover

for turned heads and bitter words,

For selfishness and wrath.

But of all things considered,

at least we had a house.

The House of Cards can never beat

a beast that grows within.

For a House of Cards is still just cards,

almost paper thin.

I rid the house of one

offending sort,

and some of us remained.

There is a slightly haunted feel,

I wish it would depart.

But anywhere that I should go

a part of it would follow.

The House of Cards surrounds me now,

within a malevolent wind

I sometimes feel it will blow down

and I’ll have nothing left.

But this House of Cards is what I have

and I have made it mine.

I have sheltered others here,

even if for a short time.

And when it is all said and done,

I hope that mine will be

the House of Cards that withstood all

and always sheltered me.

Photo courtesy of Pixabay.

 

 

 

Author: pamelascanepa

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF

Leave a Reply

