E is for Eighties, as in 1980s! #AtoZChallenge

MeAge15.20741_1324078109661_5129613_n (2)  Here I am in TN at Hands Across America, 1984 or 1985, with my Olivia Newton- John hairstyle.  🙂  I forgot to wear sunglasses, so I’m squinting.

 

The 1980s, a Free Verse Reflection, (c) 2017

by Pamela Schloesser Canepa

Now I call them the days of my youth,

the moments of my folly,

as I binge watch Stranger Things.

Let us speak of the 1980s,

Of David Bowie, Prince,

Robin Williams, and Great White.

Let us dance in the Purple Rain,

With our waterproof fuchsia lipstick.

Let me dream of a college degree

while I try to look like Madonna

in crushed midnight eyeliner,

flirting with boys

who care to waste my time.

While Phil Collins is still young,

and the Cure’s just setting in,

let me marvel at this time,

before I wake up from this dream.

Eighties47494_1447207869194_2960467_n I’ll still channel my inner eighties girl at times (minus the fuchsia lipstick)!

 

**The AtoZ Challenge theme for my blog is “Who I am.” Yes, it’s wide open.  In April, I will blog from A to Z to include little tidbits about me, poems I’ll share, and stories. Each day I will write something based on the next letter in the alphabet.  It’s been fun so far!

Want to know more about the A-Z blog challenge?  Visit http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Author: pamelascanepa

I am a writer who also teaches reading and writing, currently. In 2016, I self-published an e-book and its sequel, and I am learning the art of self-promotion. I now have a full-length time travel novel that will be published as of 6/16/17! Life is a trip, and writing is the best escape for me! See my latest novel, Detours in Time, on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0711ZW6XF

3 thoughts on “E is for Eighties, as in 1980s! #AtoZChallenge”

Leave a Reply

